Connect with us


ASD Accent on Excellence awards presented



LHS English teacher earns ASD annual award

Last Wednesday, May 1, twelve outstanding educators were honored at the annual “Accent on Excellence” awards, presented by the Alpine School District Foundation. Lehi High School English teacher, Rebekkah Rhodehouse, was one of the honorees. The dinner event was held at the Alpine Country Club.

Rhodehouse teaches English and AP Literature at LHS and was nominated for the award by Lehi High School principal Douglas Webb, who also attended the event. Honorees received a $500 cash award, a large gift basket full of gift cards and prizes donated by local sponsors, and a crystal trophy. Each of the honorees was introduced by one of their students, which was a highlight of the evening.

“More than anything, I hope I model for my students how to choose to be positive and kind,” said Rhodehouse. She also added, “Our classroom develops a climate of “we,” where every individual is valued, needed, and appreciated for their unique gifts and abilities.”

“I want my students to feel the love of education,” she added. Rhodehouse loves teaching in Lehi and said she enjoys “the great community in Lehi.”

Principal Webb added, “She is a leader on her team and collaborates with others to improve. She has also helped to mentor multiple new teachers over the past few years. Her students enjoy being in her classes.” Honorees were chosen by a committee from the Alpine School District Foundation. Other honorees from schools throughout ASD were Heidi Adams and Jen Bell, Summit High, Jacqueline Hull Gudmundson, Grovecrest Elementary, Debra Ellen Hoskin, Hidden Hollow Elementary, Becky Layne, Thunder Ridge Elementary, Karen Longmore, Foothill Elementary, JaNae Riley, Vineyard Elementary, Samantha, Schleiffarth, North Point Elementary, Kandis Taylor, Lakeridge Junior High, Dr. Vallen Thomas, Saratoga Shores Elementary, Denise Welcker, Legacy Elementary, and the PLC Team of Norene Collard and Tara Griffey, Forbes Elementary.